Meet Raymond Crawford

As the tagline on his website says, “where imagination lives”.  Raymond Crawford has been designing needlepoint canvases since 1996, and has a wonderfully lighthearted style, as well as lots of Christmas canvases.  French Knot will be featuring a trunk show of his work in April.  I perfect time to get a jump-start on those holiday canvases.

Raymond Crawford’s bio was taken from his website.  It’s a great way to preview the charming things that will be in the store.

“The Young and Dumb” Period Armed with an art teaching degree in 1978, I thought I was ready to take on any challenge that presented itself. Why not? I was always drawing and painting from an early age. I knew the students would be anxious to sit at my feet and absorb my teachings. Well, that didn’t work, so to make ends meet I part-timed in retail sales trying my best to put housewares in every home. I was also broke. After deciding that pushing La Creuset cookware didn’t ring my bell, I thought about going into the Visual Merchandising end of the retail world.

“Retail is My Life” Period Now this was a much better fit to feed my creativity needs! After working with Federated Department Stores, Neiman Marcus and Barneys New York, 25 years of retail sales, creating fabulous displays and window designs I had enough! It was a choice between “bitter-yet-creative” or “gloriously happy and creative”. Hmmmm… what’s the answer?

” Down the Yellow Brick Road” Period So in 1996, I started my own line of needlepoint designs. Leaving my bitter friends in retail, I embarked on my own yellow brick road. Now that I have come full circle back to drawing and painting, I still dabble in doing window displays for a small group of clients. I also design some large projects for a Chicago event production company. But for the most part, designing unique needlepoint is my full-time job. So I think I have found what I was looking for. As Dorothy learned, it was here all the time.

” Deep in the Heart of Where!?!” October 2006 brought the awful truth of being an adult when I lost my Dad without warning. This occurred after losing my Mother in 2004. After lots of angst and thought, I decided to buy the family home. In the next few months, Dan and I will be living in Dallas but still traveling back to Chicago frequently to see family and friends. So the roller-coaster of life continues!

Ornament photo by Jade McCully.

Leave a Reply

